Other Stuff

Synchronicity

I am a fervent believer in synchronicity.

From Wikipedia

Synchronicity is the experience of two or more events as meaningfully related, where they are unlikely to be causally related. The subject sees it as a meaningful coincidence, although the events need not be exactly simultaneous in time. The concept of synchronicity was first described by Carl Gustav Jung, a Swiss psychologist, in the 1920s.

Whatever … it works with car spaces. You just say to yourself as you come up the street, gee I hope my car space is ready.  If you are desperate about it, it will not work at all.

Anyway, my husband is on the public waiting list for a bowel resection since last May when he almost died on Mother’s Day because the bad case of wind was a twisted bowel.  He was scheduled for emergency surgery when the new shift came on duty, but because he was in intense pain and not responding to morphine, the surgeon decided to do a manual untwist right there in emergency.  This was at dawn, after a night of waiting, x-rays, and a cat scan. Thankfully cleared of cancer and major obstruction, just a common twisting. Catheters, drips and a gastric nasal tube all made their appearance in turn and shoved in the proper places.

Poor man. After all that, 10 minutes with a tube gave  instant relief.

Okay, then it was every day not knowing if it was THE day it happened again; he’s had these episodes of ‘wind’ for a year or so now, not knowing the danger. Nearly always put up with 24 hours of pain and he was right.  In September,  hospitalized and had a second manual untwist.  After that I rang his surgeon’s rooms to make sure he was still on the list. I don’t know why they suggest a 90 day wait, while everyone knows it could take ages.  Down as category 2, and we know the cancer patients in category 1 do deserve to go first, especially as hubby is easily fixed.

So, scares in October, a week apart, resolved in 6-8 hours, no emergency visit needed. All good since then until the day before yesterday, escalated overnight, partial relief in the loo in the morning but not enough to stop the pain, so off we go to emergency.

Emergency had an empty waiting room when we arrived. That was relief in itself. He went through the usual thing. Tell the triage nurse what’s wrong, wait for the clerical staff to take your details, off to the cubicle. Repeat everything to the doctor while she reads the extensive notes the triage nurse took — just to make sure your stories match up? Only one lot of x-rays this time. Superfast x-ray guys, only away from the cubicle barely ten minutes.

Anyway — to cut what is turning out a long story short! — Admitted; another manual untwist and given a promise of a faster surgery date. It is simple economics really, it would cost the hospital every time he ties up a bed like that.

And this is where synchronicity comes into play. At the hospital, I know I jokingly said (at least once) there could be a letter in our mailbox now with his operation date.

Heck, I’ve given it away now.  The letter WAS in the mail when I brought hubby home from hospital this morning.

Gee, that was some fast-tracking,  the letter bore yesterdays date. But no, the enclosed surgeon’s instructions dated the 28th — the day he got the pains. I imagine hubby sent out some powerful ‘let this be over soon’ thoughts and someone poring over the lists  said “Hey, this bloke has waited long enough, let’s do him.”

The Registrar told him this morning his op would be fast tracked. I guess it does not show up on the computer until the “Admission Offer” is confirmed by the patient.

I can imagine someone going to organise it today and find it done. There will be some head scratching.

In three weeks it will be over, at last.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Synchronicity

  1. Stepped back to the beginning (I think) to check out a couple of posts and hit this one. The style is so matter of fact, abbreviated, and clear. Tells the story almost like one imagines a rushed reporter would to a good friend. Unusual. I like it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Mr R is back to his usual jaunty self. It may take a couple of years before his body gets used to having a foot of bowel cut out, but all is good. I probably wrote about it in one of my ‘catch up’ posts. I have to do something about my navigation system, some things people can only find by accident. As to my writing style – it turns out this way sometimes. I like to think I’m chatting away to my friends instead of in my head. And of course we all write different to how we speak. My writing is getting better, I hope. The WordPress editor has helped me a lot, but I’m not dedicated enough to check comments in an editor first. 😀 Thanks for dropping by my blog, Babe.

      Like

      • Glad to hear it. But re: your writing getting better, “you hope”. I haven’t read many of your posts yet, but I’d be more than content if they were all written exactly as this one 🙂

        Like

Tell me what you're thinking.

