Other Stuff

Resolutions

“Today is the first day of the rest of my life” What a wonderful saying, I thought, on hearing this for the first time some years ago, really profound. Sadly, after said too many times to myself, it is meaningless. Just like all those new year resolutions year after year, I expect to fail so I never take myself seriously. It is a fact of life for someone like me who thrives on procrastination.

But is it possible to change? I wonder if I have ever really, really, challenged myself to go all the way to completion of a goal. I suspect I have never put in 100 percent effort into anything. Ever.

First resolution:  Become healthy.
Reason:  I want to live at least another 20 years, preferably more.
To do this:   Walk the treadmill daily. Walk the dog. Reintroduce myself to the ‘Fat Free Forever’ diet which worked for me ten years ago. Tackle the plentiful exercise opportunities in the house and garden.Day one. 5 laps = 2 km

Second resolution:  Finish drafting my novel within the next month.
Reason:  I must finish it before I can feel comfortable calling myself a writer.
To do this:  Average 800 words a day for 30 days.

So, to this end, I have changed my tagline to “Giving procrastination the flick!” (edit: temporarily)

Standard

Tell me what you're thinking.

