Catch Up

Hello People, yes, ’tis me. Not much happening on here lately. But I’ll be back writing most days now. For some insane reason, I signed up for the rerun of Zero to Hero – now call Blogging 101 – which got me thinking about this 101 business. Off to Wikipedia

The term 101 (pronounced “One-oh-one”) often indicates an introductory level of learning.

The term originates from use in American university course numbering systems, designed to make transfer between colleges easier. …

There you go, if you were wondering, too. I suppose it was obvious, really. I always  wanted to finish Zero to Hero sometime. Of course I didn’t finish it last time, did I! Nothing new about that. But I’m trying hard with the new me. It is working, as [quick look over my left shoulder] I’ve made the bed everyday, ever since I told you I was. Just a minute … … … well, some days the sheets get a bit longer to air, than others.

The well known subspecies T. h. moluccanus has a blue belly and lacks the barring on the breast found on the nominate subspecies

Left: LOOK WHAT I HAVE IN MY FRONT YARD – A pair of rainbow lorikeets are nesting in the elm tree out front.  Photo from Wikipedia. I hope to produce stunning photos of my own sometime: I’m putting seed out again.  I made the mistake of doing a video instead of photos when they visited. Next time.

Back to Blogging 101, that was where I first noticed some of you. Anyway, what I’m going to do, if I did the daily prompt last time, I’ll include the original along with new thoughts on the blogging process, almost a year on, now. Is it a year? No, according to the dashboard my first post  was 2nd January this year – ahh, a New Years fling then. I actually signed up for this new blog last year  and fiddled with themes and practice posts, as you do. I made all sorts of rash promises in those first posts  – family history, a photo a day – made all sorts of rash statements like getting my garden under control this year! Ha! I suppose the year isn’t over yet.

Zero to Hero  turned out more like Hero to Zero for me.

As you know, I’ve signed up for a ridiculous number of MOOCs, the latest being the Science Of Happiness at edX.  I then cast my eye over the upcoming classes I’d already booked, to take something out, but just couldn’t let any of them go, not without attempting to keep up. I’m going okay so far.

So, now, at FutureLearn (where, thank goodness, there are no onerous academic style peer assessments) I’m doing: Towards Scottish Independence? Understanding the Referendum;  Psychology and Mental Health-Beyond Nature and Nurture; and Heart Health: A Beginner’s Guide to Cardiovascular Disease. What a mouthful for just three classes.

WP_20140915_001
Galahs – looking through dirty glass and a net curtain.

You might ask why I’m interested in the Scottish thing. It’s because I still feel 25% Scottish, even though I found out I’m not – because my lying hound of a grandfather was born in Bolton, Lancashire, England and not under the Firth of the Forth Bridge, like he told mum.

Coming up next week at FutureLearn is Hadrian’s Wall: Life on the Roman Frontier,  excellent!  Over at Coursera, I’m halfway through Climate Change – even submitted the first big assignment this week, after I decided I wouldn’t do so, but it preyed on my mind, and I found myself composing the words anyway. I enjoy putting my thoughts into words. [oh, really?]

This was my first assignment: Post Haste. I had an accident placing the last polygon point, but liked the resulting shape. Some parcels and wheels - bingo!
This was my first assignment: Post Haste. An accident placing the last polygon point, produced this main shape – add some parcels and wheels – bingo!

And, as if that isn’t enough, I’m doing other stuff at Coursera, too: Introduction to Computational Arts, where I’m learning code to draw stuff, and later will add images and sound. I don’t know how to save jpg files from Processing, yet, so here’s some phone photos from the screen!

This one: Go Port Power! and is my current assignment undergoing evaluation. My footy team colours are teal, black and white – the red represents raised blood pressure.

Powerful Tools for Teaching and Learning: Digital Storytelling, is very interesting.  I’ve submitted the outline for the digital story presentation for peer assessment and, this week, I must write the script, collect images, and build a storyboard. I’m doing a little story about one of my mum’s family lines – going back to my only convict ancestor, a bit in the style of ‘Who Do You Think You Are?’

Learning How to Learn finished two weeks ago, and I got 99.5%, with distinction. Howzat! That link will take you to the final assignment. I haven’t written up much on my online learning blog lately. But I will try to speak about each weeks learning in each course, eventually.

eppalock
Lake Eppalock, years ago. My climate change assignment is about predictions for our local water supply.

In five days, Comic Books and Graphic Novels, begins. I’ve already unenrolled myself twice, as my list lengthened, but what the heck. It’s intriguing. I can just watch, and not do the tasks.

And what of my novel, you are probably asking. Well, I’m getting into it, slowly. I’m trying to push myself to have the ending done by the 5th October, not necessarily the whole book written, but at least the ending. What? the widget boldly declares it’s only 19 days? [sigh] Anyway, what’s the rush! It’s not like it’s going to change my life or anything. I’m not sitting on the next best thing to Harry Potter, despite what I’d like to think… well … no, I’m not .. but geez, wouldn’t it be nice …

It was Mr R’s 61st birthday, yesterday. I’m getting closer to 60.  Oh, that reminds me, I’m supposed to be feeding menu and wine lists into a blog for my daughter, for her restaurant. I’ve started. Better do that now, I’ve met all my class deadlines until next Monday.  Catch you later!

grassy raindrops
grassy raindrops

 

24 Comments Add yours

  1. mrsmrs says:

    It actually hurts me to say I like this post: you make me feel ashamed of my intellectual laziness, Christine. You’re a bloody powerhouse !!! 😀
    If you don’t end up with a brain ten times its normal size, I’ll be amazed.
    You go, girl !!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Thank you M-R. I’m amazing myself, actually. I don’t know how long I will be able to keep it up, though! Crash and burn soon. 😀 M-R? Do you see many ads on my blogs? it says visitors will see them now and then. And I noticed you raving on about ads, so I know you take notice, just wondered … ?

      Like

      1. mrsmrs says:

        Nup. Not so far. I think it’ll take a fair few followers before they start doing that. I paid for ’em not to, just in case: could bear the thought. I mean, you visit … oh, Lisa’s blog and the damned ads infuriate you …

        Liked by 1 person

        1. ChristineR says:

          Thanks for that. So I’m safe then from unundation. If it gets bad, when I’m famous, I’ll just have to buy them off. 😀

          Like

          1. mrsmrs says:

            I’ll tell you if I ever see any, OK ?

            Liked by 1 person

  2. If I had time (which I don’t), I would do the Scottish Independence one too. Glaswegians on both sides (maternal grandfather and paternal great great…um…another great, I think…grandfather) so strongly interested.

    But then you mentioned Comic Books and Graphic Novels. OOOH! Sigh. Don’t have time for that either but I might stick it in front of the teenagers. 🙂

    I don’t know how you do it. You’re amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      I have lots of time, since work could hardly even be called part time, and it’s only been full on for a week so far. I’m determined though, to give it my best. 🙂

      Like

  3. Glad to hear from you – and a wee bit jealous of the pretty birds you have in your yard.

    WOW! That is a boatload of learning, and then some. This is when you need to make sure you have a battery back up for your internet!

    Happy studies!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      I hadn’t thought of battery backup! I’ve taken on board the advice not to leave it until the last minute for submissions, it’s good you can keep fiddling and resubmitting right up to the deadline.

      I don’t know where those birds come from this year – never seen them here before. We have couple of good flowering gum trees just outside the yard, and the hollows in the elm tree out front, so they must have thought the area ideal. There is a second pair, too, nesting elsewhere. I often see the four of them join for a bit of a fly around. I think the girl must be sitting on eggs though, they have only come to feed the once that I know of. Thanks for stopping by Maggie.

      Like

      1. It sounds like you spend just about as much time behind a computer terminal as I do. We have power “brown outs” often enough to require battery back up for when I’m online listening to lectures or taking an exam. It’s mandatory while I’m taking this course.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Sue says:

    R, Happy Birthday, hope you had a good day. Christine, you make my brain numb. Don’t know how you can learn all that stuff. Anything that goes into my brain seems to sneak out of any aperture that it can find. Good on you though. The birds are gorgeous. Scottish – have you looked at the origins of your families names. You may still end up having Scottish blood. Found a couple of my Scottish ancestors names come from English roots. Before I knew we had Scots blood, I always wondered why I like the sound of the bagpipes so much. There’s always the 5th October 2015.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      No, can’t find any Sue. All English and Irish. I used to brag how much more Scottish I was than Rob, until I found out. Still, despite granddad being born England, and his father too, his mum and all four of his grandparents were Irish born, so I have more Irish blood than English in me. I love the sound of bagpipes too. The rate I’m going withmy book, it will take that long. I dreamt the ending this morning, but couldn’t keep a grip on it. It’s happened before, right when I wake if I’ve thought about before sleep. Still, an important plot change came to me. Have a good day, Sue. ❤

      Like

      1. Sue says:

        Irish & Scottish = Celt (there you go, close enough), and they both wear tartans & have bagpipes.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Cindi says:

    Like M-R, I feel a little lazy reading of your learning and pursuits! You’re an inspiration.

    But I do get the bed made every day, so there’s that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Thanks Cindi. I’m being a bit of a braggart! I’m already feeling more alert, must be the new neural pathways developing. ❤

      Like

  6. Oh I’m sure that’s it! Good for you. M-R, why am I not receiving any posts from your new blog?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mrsmrs says:

      Are you following it ? – she asked ridiculously … And I in turn have been receiving nought from you.
      VOT ISS GOINK ON ? Sighh …

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ChristineR says:

        It’s all that blog changing going on!

        Like

  7. Just catching up too, Christine. All your activities and interests? What is your secret, how does your curious spirit lead you to all these things? 🙂
    PS Love your photos of wild birds, always so sad to see them in cages.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Well, Susan, one thing leads to another … I’m actually unintentionally taking a break from family history research and finding new obsessions. It’s M-R’s fault, this MOOC thing. She mentioned the Times of Richard III, at FutureLearn, then someone mentioned Coursera, and I was instantly smitten with the idea. Of course, taking in knowledge of all these things will lead to better character development in my writing. And I can do book trailers. I don’t know if I’m brave enough to try my own cover, but I reckon I’ll give it a shot. 😀 I just love messing about on the computer. Glad you like the birds. Thanks for dropping by. Now, don’t I have to run along and buy your book? I’m sure it’s yours … yes ’tis … Arafura. I liked the bit I read, very much. I’ll pop it on my laptop. I’m hopeless at reviews but I’ll give it a go. 🙂

      Like

      1. Thanks Christine. New obsessions are always good, no matter ones’s age or stage, keeps things interesting. Just read a great book on character development, Getting into Character by Brandilyn Collins. Good on you for trying your own cover too!!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. eLPy says:

    Lord, I’m jealous. Galahs & Lorikeets, awesome! Did you know that Lorikeets are actually nectar feeders? Being native to you I can’t profess to much knowledge but that is one thing I’ve learned about them. I know there’s plenty of information online, probably some nectar feeders, like hummingbirds, you can find. I’m sure that’ll make taking pics of them easier. 🙂 Oh I do look forward to those.

    As I write this now your widget says you’re 97,000+ words in with 3 months to go until publication! Congrats! Writing is not easy, I look forward to learning more about your publishing and writing experiences. And good luck with your promotional efforts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Hi eLPy, I found out not long after this post that the lorikeets are nectar feeders, but I still haven’t gotten around to getting buying a feeder. I haven’t seen them for ages – I bet the lady across the road has one in her woodland. The gum blossom has pretty much died off around my home now, so I’m not expecting them back soon. But I have plenty of other honeyeaters about to attract and photograph.

      Thanks for your kind wishes for my novel. Unlike most of the stuff I’ve written about in this particular post, I do expect to get my book done for real. 😀 I bit off way more than I could chew with the online classes. Some I’ll front up to again this year, but I’ll stagger them out so I have no more than two at a time.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. eLPy says:

        Maybe when you get a feeder you’ll find they grace you with their presence more often! Especially if they’re nesting nearby. A food source close to the nest I would think to be a blessing. I’m unfamiliar with Gum Blossoms but will look it up, too bad it died; are they food sources for the Lorikeets? I do look forward either way to your honeyeaters!

        Your welcome! Good job sticking to it though as I know it can be hard sometimes. I do know how it feels to bite off a lot more than, never mind chewing, one can handle period! But props nonetheless on having the ambition. 🙂 Good luck with your next round of classes.

        Like

Tell me what you're thinking.

