Red-browed Firetails

Now and then over the last month, I’ve had these cute finches visit my yard. Beginning with just four, the flock has grown to a dozen. I have no hope of photographing them, but here is an educational video.

17 Comments Add yours

  1. fatericsmum says:

    We didn’t have anything like that visit us in the Adelaide Hills, Christine — whereabouts (roughly) are you located?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      The locality looks to run out about the border for these birds – I’m in central Victoria, about 100 kms northish of Melbourne.

      Like

      1. fatericsmum says:

        Oh, well that would explain it. For some reason I thought you were based in South Australia 😐

        Liked by 1 person

        1. ChristineR says:

          Paula, perhaps that was because my profile says I was born in Mt Gambier and I might have mentioned barracking for Port Adelaide. I grew up mostly in Victoria. My mum and three of my brothers live in Adelaide, though.

          Like

          1. fatericsmum says:

            I think it was your obvious familiarity with Adelaide (and occasional comments about specific locations there) which gave me this idea, Christine. Now I really understand, though 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Finches are so c.u.t.e. Like the color of these as well. ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. milliethom says:

    Such pretty, dainty birds – lovely colours. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sue says:

    What lovely birds. We used to get the finches with yellow markings, but sad to say don’t see many around lately. Mostly Noisy Minah’s, Blackbirds, Crows & a lot less pigeons than we used to have, every now and then Galah’s & Sulphur Crested’s. Also used to get the Black Kraak from Kangaroo Island but the neighbours cut the big gum down that they used to visit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Do you mean the goldfinches Sue? We’ve had a couple around recently, too.

      Like

      1. Sue says:

        Gold finch too brightly coloured, they had a flush of pale yellow on their breast. No idea what they are called.

        Like

        1. ChristineR says:

          Might be little thornbills?

          Like

  5. bkpyett says:

    Gorgeous birds!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gorgeous, and they are fast, aren’t they? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      They are quick. You know Susan, I’ve almost brought your second book a few times now, but I’m ashamed to say that I end up getting cheaper ones instead. But, I know the day will come, because I can still remember the first Arafura quite clearly – even after all this time. I only remember the engaging ones. 🙂

      Like

      1. Hi Christine. Yes, the issue of price…I grapple with that one. Happy to send you Arafura Unfinished Business in exchange for an honest review. Appreciate that you wrote one for the first novel, 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. ChristineR says:

          Oh yes, Susan, I’ll be in that – not that I was hinting or anything. I’m too stingy to spend more than $4.99 on any one book. Any format will be fine. christnejudith (@) gmail ( . ) com will go straight to my Samsung tab 3 Lite. (NOTE: no second ‘i’ in my name there.) That’ll be great! ❤

          Like

  7. eLPy says:

    Cool share! Those are some super cool little birds, how lucky are you?! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you're thinking.

