Minus Five

frosty morn, Sunday,  21 June 15, 7.47AM
frosty morn, Sunday, 21 June 15, 7:47AM
minus six
7:47AM – minus 5 (next door’s mailbox)
frosty morn 21june15c
8:26AM – the ice is still on the fence, left when I changed the birds water around 7AM. The gum tree was dripping melting ice from their leaves, like rain.
cockies positioned so they could see the kitchen door - eating cyprus seeds
10:11AM: cockies positioned so they could see our  kitchen door – eating cypress seeds
This one carried the seed pod with him.
This one carried a seed pod with him while they flew to the elm tree. (I think it was this one.)

I’m pleased – got a whole scene rewritten today. I’m printing each one out in double spacing for the first proper edit later on.

Thanks for reading. 🙂

18 Comments Add yours

  1. bkpyett says:

    Looks very cold up your way Christine.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sue says:

    It didn’t reach that low here, but it sure felt like it. Dived out of bed to put heater on then jumped back into bed to wait for it to heat up. Been an icy wind all day, cuts right through you. I’m still glad that the cold weather is here.

    Like

  3. Outlier Babe says:

    All right, d#mmit: What’s would it cost to buy a friggin’ home where you live? I’m dead serious. I am on a long research project, and all options are open.

    Like

    1. fatericsmum says:

      Rural Australia is very beautiful! Any of rural: NSW, Victoria, South Australia and (of course 🙂 ) Tasmania would offer you a very cheap and very beautiful place to live. Temperatures vary, for example, although I live at 43 degrees south at the bottom of Tasmania (that’s as far south as you can live without leaving Australia altogether) our coldest day has still not yet dropped below zero — though I suspect it might have just dipped down last night, as it was 0.3 degrees celsius when I got up at 6:00 this morning …

      Check out the online real estate at, e.g. realestate.com.au or domain.com.au

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Outlier Babe says:

        That s/b “what”–and thank you, Fat Eric’s mum! : )

        Liked by 1 person

      2. ChristineR says:

        Thanks Paula. House prices are inflated here because we are only 100kms from Melbourne – quite a few people travel to the outer industrial suburbs for work. And then we have a huge intake of retirees who come here for one of the best golf courses in Victoria, if not Australia.

        I think the ocean around Tasmania keep the temps from being so dramatic as ours. I think we are in the path of snow clouds on their way to the snowfields!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. milliethom says:

    I sympathise with you having such low temps Christine, although the scenery looks lovely with the frost on it. It doesn’t seem long since you were writing about the heat! Glad to hear that your writing is coming along so well.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. ChristineR says:

      I’m a sook, Millie, no doubt!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. fatericsmum says:

    Yes, we’ve had snow on the Hartz Mountains across the river every day since the start of June. Winter is definitely colder this year than last! But those cold, clear days are very beautiful – and always make me want to get out and do stuff 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      One always has to ‘do stuff’ on a farm! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. sue says:

    DON’T go and do stuff, I thought I would do some weeding while my grandson was playing with next door’s little girl. Big mistake, forgot that I haven’t done a lot of bending, reaching, etc. for a while. I can hardly walk today, every time I sit down, stand up or bend over the muscles in my back scream IDIOT.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      … well I shouldn’t have pushed like … but there is no sympathy button! ❤

      Like

      1. sue says:

        Your very kind, but I bet deep down your laughing at me. Your turn will come.

        Liked by 2 people

        1. ChristineR says:

          But I have done stuff like that in the past – it’s always gardening that brings you undone! I always sit down to weed these days … when I weed.

          Like

    2. fatericsmum says:

      I do know what you mean, Sue. I decided to try to get fit at Easter and went off hiking with a pair of trekking poles — how was I to know I already had arthritis in my thumbs? They hadn’t been hurting all that much up till then – but, oh boy, they certainly hurt afterwards! My GP was remarkably sympathetic, considering what an idiot I’d been …

      Liked by 2 people

      1. sue says:

        OOh, you poor thing. But at least you were brave to try.

        Liked by 2 people

Tell me what you're thinking.

