Ronovan’s Haiku Challenge #74

So here I go again! Have I ever managed to attend three challenges in a row? Somehow, I doubt it.

haiku74wolfcake

The words Ronovan has put up for the prompt are Wolf & Cake

Again, I’m sticking to the Haiku in English style, with syllable counts of 5, 7, and 5 over the three lines. I’ve used synonyms in place of the word prompts – feast for wolf & dessert for cake. The haiku reads in two sentences, as required, and express an opposite (feast, consume, starve). Don’t read too much into it!

Feast on my heartbeat, consume love’s dessert: my soul.
Consume love’s dessert: my soul is starved of delight

The rose, pictured, is from one of three bushes I have flowering in my garden.

Have a good day.  🙂

Do you need to pick me up on cringe-worthy grammar?  I’m not sure about the apostrophe in love’s, or the use of the colon. (I can live with the actual haiku.)

20 Comments Add yours

  1. ahh! This one is delight to read.. A very nice attempt.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Thank you for your encouragement, Prakash. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aunt Beulah says:

    Nice Haiku, Christine. I find them difficult to write and interesting to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Thank you, Janet. I try not to overthink it, just fiddle until it seems right. I’m enjoying reading others in this challenge, and thought to have a go. Thanks for dropping in.

      Like

  3. Claudette says:

    Love it Christine. Very well written. I get hung up of the apostrophes too (it’s been a long time since High School English), but I think it works.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Thanks for your kind words, Claudette.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Thank you jazzytower. 🙂

      Like

  4. This was a lovely haiku, I loved your take on the prompt words 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Thank you, Edwina. I shall tootle around to your place and have a look at yours. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are very welcome to mooch around 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. smasherchyk says:

    Beautiful haiku!! I haven’t written lately. I miss it. I should get back to it soon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Ronovan has kindly kept me linked this week so I better tack on haiku #75 to this post! I’m very glad you liked this one, Ginger, I’m just new and enjoying the creation process. (No, of course I didn’t recognize you from your avatar – had to pop off to your blog and refresh my memory! If you had ‘likes’ enabled I would’ve pushed a few while there, but my visit passed without trace. Thanks for dropping in. Appreciated. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you're thinking.

