my favourite photo of the echidna
Other Stuff

Retro Thursday: Echidna, abt 1988

After  seeing Claudette’s echidna photos (which I missed when she posted them back in October), I decided to pluck out these echidna shots from an old album. Luckily I picked out the right one right away – else I would still be tripping down memory lane!

echidna - a black spot in the paddock

What’s that it the paddock?

I was married to Mr X then. The window over my kitchen sink looked out across our farm – that strip of green is on the neighbour’s stud cattle property. We ran sheep, for both fat lambs and wool.  I recall seeing the ‘black thing’ ambling across the paddock. As soon as I worked out it was an echidna (or hedgehog as what I grew up calling them), I rushed for the camera.

Copy of ech1988001a

A hedgehog!

ech1988001b

Just ambling along

I have no idea what camera I used. It was about 1988, and I don’t think I was up to Time Magazine’s FC-100. Whatever I used before then used a film cartridge. Gee, I love digital so much.

echidna

What?

Echidna ambling across the paddock

One last photo before it reached the shade

my favourite photo of the echidna

My favourite photo

I hope you enjoyed another look at an Echidna.  By the way, like our platypus, the echidna is an egg-laying mammal called a monotreme.  Any resemblance to the hedgehog is only superficial. If you wish to know more about their oddities, then check out the article on Wikipedia.   🙂

Standard

9 thoughts on “Retro Thursday: Echidna, abt 1988

  1. sue says:

    Some people are born with a silver spoon, think you were born with a camera. Great shots, such unusual little animals aren’t they. Don’t think I have ever seen one in real life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL. I was a teenager before I ever got my hands on a camera. Amazed you’ve never seen one. We had one here in the yard – twice – and it dug its way out of sight when the dogs disturbed it. Gone next morning, both times.

      Like

Tell me what you're thinking.

