Pink Hebe

 

beehebe

bee, pink hebe
Nokia Lumia 520 windows phone

bee, pink hebe

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Claudette says:

    The bees here love the my hebes too (and I have a lot of them – hebes, and bees!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      I only have two pink shrubs. I’m glad to have something else to flower for the bees.

      Like

      1. Claudette says:

        I have, maybe a dozen different varieties, and lots and lots of seeds coming up everywhere at the moment that I’m hoping to transplant.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. ChristineR says:

          They self-seed? Hey, there might be benefit in my lack of the annual weed this December! Do they grow true to the parent plant colour?

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Claudette says:

            The ones I have planted did. I have whites, purples, pinks, pink/whites, purple/whites, and many tones in between, short rounds, long fingers, fat buds and variegated foliage. They are hardy, you can chop them down to hardly anything and they grow back, and they are green all year, what more could you ask from a plant.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. fatericsmum says:

    Hebes are so pretty, Christine — it’s a pity the possums like them so much 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Do they eat them, then? Didn’t know that – or do they just go frolicking in them and wrecking them?

      Like

      1. fatericsmum says:

        Oh no – they eat them completely! Last autumn I had the most gorgeous hebes just outside my study window, but now they’re simply skeleton plants. Just dead sticks 😦

        Liked by 1 person

    2. ChristineR says:

      It’s you, Paula! Thanks for dropping by. For a sec I thought I was talking to Sue, lucky I didn’t put in a name. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sue says:

    Don’t think I have seen Hebes. Very pretty flower – Sue

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      I didn’t know what they were when I bought them, but they grow well. I cut mine back every year to stop them going leggy. Lots of varieties and colours (especially in New Zealand) – this one has a specific name which I couldn’t be bothered checking. 🙂

      Like

  4. Aussie Emjay says:

    Love the bee’s cute little face! Your phone takes really good photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Hi MJ, I was really pleased how well the photo came out – I must have been holding it in exactly the right place so it wouldn’t become grainy when I cropped it. The middle one looks like it has eyebrows!

      Hey! Just nicked over to your place – checking -and I see that you’re posting again. Yayyyy! All the best to you and yours for 2016.

      Like

  5. Aunt Beulah says:

    Amazing photograph: such clear, vivid colors and minute detail.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Not bad for a cheap phone camera! Of course, if one takes about 40 images, one is bound to get a good one now and then! I was pretty amazed at that face-on bee though! Being overcast must have let the macro lense lock in better.

      Like

Tell me what you're thinking.

