Drawing

1970 Sketchbook: Grandma’s ducks

Hello people.

I am pleased to report that my 1970 sketchbook has been found and is unscathed by mice.  Today I’m sharing Grandma’s ducks – those white ones with crinkly red wattles on their faces.

In 1970, I was aged 15. These are nearly my favourite images from the sketchbook because they invoke such a wonderful memory.

 

sketch of duck

1970 Grandma’s duck

 

As you can imagine, I was a bit horrified to find that – sometime later – I have gone over my sketches with a red ballpoint pen!!!   OMG.

 

1970grandmasduck2

1970 Grandma’s ducks

 

When I was younger, Grandma had these ducks in her backyard – lots of them – and it stunk of muddy water and duck shit. One had to navigate along the duck yard fence to get to the outhouse right down the back. Grandma sold the eggs and probably eating ducks, too.

 

sketch of duck

1970 Grandma’s duck

 

I drew these from life, obviously bearing the stink okay. Also obvious is the fact that I had better synapses between my eye, brain and hand at 15 than I do at 61.

I hope you enjoyed seeing these, as I intend giving you a page each week.

Have a good day.  🙂

Standard

10 thoughts on “1970 Sketchbook: Grandma’s ducks

  1. sue says:

    Great drawings, I could never draw from life, but I could copy freehand very well. Came in very useful at work. I think that ducks poop with every step they take. A pair migrated from a neighbours to the back corner of our yard to lay their eggs. Mum raided the nest. Yuk, I didn’t like the taste of duck eggs at all. Lovely drawings, why a red pen?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A very nostalgic feel for you!! 🙂 Its always a pleasure to go through old sketchbooks and diaries, refreshes so many memories!! Thank you for sharing these with us, it was wonderful to see your sketches and know your story from 15 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks you, Mithai. I was very pleased to find that the mice had not eaten it in the 15 years it has been shoved to one side – preserved between oil painting canvas boards.

    Like

Tell me what you're thinking.

