On my front fence

sulphur-crested cockatoo
Sulphur-crested Cockatoo

 

magpies
Sulphur-crested Cockatoo

 

galah
Sulphur-crested Cockatoo

 

A few of the birds visiting my front fence this week. (Nikon D3000 DSLR)

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Magpies? I had no idea what they looked like. Thank you. I learn something new every day. Wonderful, crisp close-ups. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      I’ve changed my camera settings to the highest quality – as per a book I’m reading. The galah was taken before that. I’m trying to move past auto.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love your photos. 😀 ❤

        Like

    2. ChristineR says:

      Oh yes, nearly forgot Tess, I thought all countries had magpies – just different versions of the black-and-white birds, though.

      Like

      1. I should look them up. These are the first I’ve ever laid eye upon. 🙂

        Like

  2. sue says:

    The Nikon takes a wonderful sharp picture.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      I’m pleased, as these are heavily cropped. I have the camera on its highest quality now (these are optimized and reduced to 80% as well). I need to conquer shutter speed, focus points, and ISO and white balance too. Geez, auto is easier!

      Like

  3. milliethom says:

    Your fence looks like the place to be, Christine. We don’t get the cockatoos and galahs, but we have plenty of magpies. Great photos.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. milliethom says:

        Hope all is going well with the publication of your book! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. ChristineR says:

          Hello Millie – I’ve just posted my usual confessional – shifting the goalposts again! Thanks for asking. I shall visit your blog and see how you are doing, this evening. 🙂

          Like

  4. Beautiful pictures!! 🙂 Love the close ups!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Thank you Mithai.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you're thinking.

