Macro: Barbed wire snags

For Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Macro  This week, Sally has an interesting treatment for a Gerber Daisy – you would hardly believe they are the same image.

My close-up images were taken with the Nokia Lumia 520 Windows Phone, on auto.  The featured image (above or at the side depending on your device) was colour adjusted and sharpened in IrfinView before being scaled in GIMP.

The next one seems boring in comparison … maybe I have been fiddling with the settings and I only thought it was on auto…

raindrops on snagged cattle hair in wire barb
raindrops on snagged cattle hair in a wire barb

 

And here is the same one with the white balance auto adjusted in GIMP…

as above but white balance changed
with white balance changed

 

This last image is as is, only cropped and sharpened…

snagged cattle hair in barbed wire
raindrops on snagged cattle hair in barbed wire

 

Which one do you like best?

None?

How about this one…

jonquils (Nokia Lumia 520)
jonquils in my garden (Nokia Lumia WP 520)

 

Thanks for looking. Have a  good day.    🙂

14 Comments Add yours

  1. sue says:

    Yep, middle one, looks like a decoration you could use on the xmas tree

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, tinsel and baubles, excellent thought Sue!

      Like

  2. Su Leslie says:

    These are great. I like them all, but am particularly drawn to the black and white. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Su, I’m partial to that one, too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like the second one with the white balance changed, the colors are so deep and beautiful. I would never know what this actually is! Great work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Christine. The automatic white balance really made the whole thing pop, so I reckon I’ve interfered with the phone camera settings. Trying to get off auto,but all I do is confuse myself!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Claudette says:

    Lovely. The rain drops are fantastic stuck on the hair. I’m not sure which is my preferred.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Claudette, each one has a different feel. I like the almost black & white one the most. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Terrific capture that evokes artistry in an unusual combination of images. My favorite is the second, which in your editing brings out stronger edges and colors. Who would associate delicacy with the wire, and yet the additions make it happen. Happy Photo Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Sally, glad to get back into taking part.

      Like

      1. Delighted that you are.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Olga says:

    Very interesting and dramatic photos, especially the b/w. The raindrops create a perfect harmonious world for the eye to explore.<3

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you're thinking.

