Sally D's Mobile Photography Challenge

B&W: Rural living scenery

I took these photos of my local scenery for Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Black & White, using the Nokia Lumia 530 windows phone. Turned B&W in IrfanView, scaled down but not cropped. Clicking will open a larger image in a new window.

Sally has a lovely pair of B&W photo montages this week. Using photographs of the same subject over different time periods and then combining them in interesting ways is an exciting idea. Sally’s have a wonderful abstract feel.

wet scenery

22nd July 2016

These first photos overlook the farm next door to our place. I don’t know how much rain we had recently because I’ve forgotten to empty the rain gauge. When I’ve looked at it from a distance, I had been fooled by a reddish stain at around the lower end where old water sat for ages. Only after we had a huge downpour did I discover that the gauge was full. So I know we had at least 5 inches this winter. It may well have some possum piss in it, too.  🙂

cloudy landscape

23rd July 2016

24th July 2016 Foggy, cold morning

24th July 2016 Foggy, cold morning

fog3

24th July 2016 Foggy, cold morning

These last two images look back towards town. It is a very cold day, today the 24th, beginning with fog and drizzle. Almost 1:30pm before getting a glimpse of the sun and the temperature is almost 7 C.

foggy rural living landscape

24th July 2016 Foggy, cold morning

 

I hope you are having a great weekend.  Thanks for reading.  🙂

Standard

6 thoughts on “B&W: Rural living scenery

  1. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Black and White (Experiment with Photomontage) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. I am vacationing with my family and the grandchildren are keeping me busy with their enthusiasm for everything, but I took a few minutes out to catch up with your blog and, as always, your photographs didn’t disappoint. Thank you for a few quiet moments of enjoyment.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you're thinking.

