Natural abstraction

For Sally D’s mobile photography challenge. This week Sally has another brilliant photomontage – a forest still life which is far from still.

4th Monday Challenger’s Choice (Pick One: Abstraction, Animals, …)

 

I have chosen Abstraction. 

 

abstract1

Nokia Lumia 520 Windows Phone

abstract2

Processed with IrfanView & FastStone Image Viewers

No doubt you recognised this as bark. At certain times of the year, when wet, this tree along our service road has the most awesome patterns and colours.

abstractfeat

abstract4

The tree… I have no idea what this tree is, but I suppose I should find out.

abstracttree

Thanks for looking.

abtree2016 01 520 150

Do have a good day.  🙂

(added later – Since it is August already, the first Monday prompt is nature and Sally has linked this on her end in her post containing an image of Yosemite Falls. )

14 Comments Add yours

  1. sue says:

    Have never seen such a wide range of colours on the one tree, absolutely marvellous. What is the colour like under the bark?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sue, some of these colours are under the bark – yellow and green, I think, from memory. Most vivid when the bark peels.

      Like

  2. Claudette says:

    Gorgeous. What wonderful colours, would love to know what tree it is. Can you do a close up of it’s leaves so I might guess?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I shall do so tomorrow, Claudette. They are a small dark and narrow leaf as you can see in the top left corner of the bottom image. An Aussie native. I was stunned by images online of the rainbow gum.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Christine, these are glorious. Thanks for the beauty to start my day. Happy Photo Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Christine, what a wonderful idea! The shots are beautiful and work perfect for abstract creations.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Janet. I was late, as usual, and it fits in with this weeks nature, too. The colours are stunning when wet.

      Like

  5. LavendarLadi says:

    Wow! We have a tree here in Canada that sheds like that but the colours underneath are not as interesting. Our’s is a type of Sycamore (Platanus occidentalis),

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I which it was like this all year, nowhere near as interesting at the moment except for its fascinating smoothness. There is a lovely American Sycamore on the other side of this service road and it does put on a nice show throughout the year with its bark, leaves and hanging balls! Thanks for dropping by LavendarLadi. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Aunt Beulah says:

    Christine, I did not recognize these wondrous photographs as tree bark. Never had I seen bark look like this. It is amazing to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had not really taken in the full extent of the colouring until I began choosing bits for cropping. I’m looking forward to that time of the year again for another show.

      Like

Tell me what you're thinking.

