Bees in Equalized Colour

There are 5 Mondays in the month of August, thus Sally’s theme this week is editing and processing.  Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge. 

I took these photos of a bee on peach blossom this morning with the Nokia Lumia 520 windows phone, on auto.

In GIMP – I wondered what ‘auto equalize colour’ would do. My eyes popped.

Cropped in IrfanView. Scaled, auto equalized colour, and optimized for the web in GIMP (the free Gnu Image Manipulation Program). Then, on the page here, I thought they looked like they needed a bit of something else so I applied frame masking in FastStone Image Viewer (mask number 21 with black background). It looked more interesting than a black frame around the edge.

 

Mequalizedexspringbees 190

 

Mequalizedspringbees 167

 

Mequalizedexspringbees 182

 

Mequalizedexspringbees 181

 

Mequalizedexspringbees 165

 

 

I could play with images for days! Now I see why Sally is hooked on photo-montages.

I have been visiting blogs, too, so please do not pass out with shock should you spot me. I have been kicking myself, as I didn’t realise just how much I missed you all until I started catching up.

Thanks for looking!  Have a good day. 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Suzanne says:

    These are really terrific. I love the framing too.

    Like

  2. These are otherworldly, which is certainly appropriate for Mother Nature. The second is my favorite. Happy Photo Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aunt Beulah says:

    The different images you produced are amazing. I enjoyed studying each one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed them. I must admit I paid little attention to composition. 🙂

      Like

  4. I’ve never heard of these editing apps, but the results are beautiful, Christine.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Janet. Both the apps are free. GIMP can do pretty much what Photoshop can do – for free. Works with Linux and Windows. A steep learning curve, though. I love playing with the different things the free programs can do.

      Like

Tell me what you're thinking.

