The Owl is Back

Ever since the leaves came back on the oak tree, I have been looking for the owl/s. A Powerful Owl was roosting yesterday, clutching a half-grown possum. I hadn’t seen it when we walked up the road but, on the way back, Vika spotted the possum’s stomach pouch on the ground underneath.

I was thrilled that the oak will be a regular daytime roost again this year. From the amount of scat on the ground underneath, this morning, I think both owls may have been there and I hadn’t seen it due to the thickness of the foliage. No owls this morning, though.

I didn’t have time to go back and take photos yesterday, nor could I as I think I have locked the aperture setting on my camera or it is set to flash every time and the flash will not come up – not sure. I haven’t had time to go through the manual and undo whatever I did to it. I was playing with a button and turning a dial. I doesn’t seem to be the SD card.

These are old owl photos, from Autumn, with the Nikon D3000 SLR

autumnwalk8
owl sizing up my dog
autumnwalk7
powerful owl in oak tree

New photos soon!

Thanks for looking and I am really sorry for slacking off on the blogging.  🙂

10 Comments Add yours

  1. sue ouzounis says:

    Your excused, it’s not as if you were doing nothing. Don’t know how you get so much done. Welcome back to the owls, messy eaters though, or maybe they hadn’t finished yet and hadn’t had time to clear the scraps away. Hope the camera works out. Should be a button you can push to send it back to it’s original settings (a before the human fiddled with it button).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, well I’ve got my ‘Nikon D3000 for Dummies’ book, now, and I will need it!
      Yeah, I look for bits lying around underneath the tree. Vika has a sensitive nose so she spots the icky bits.

      Like

  2. I am fascinated by owls. Great photos. Thanks, Christine. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome Tess (and I STILL have not visited your blog, yikes!) I’m looking forward to plenty of pictures. My favourite so far is the one in my header. I love it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Indeed. I love it too. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I was fortunate to see the owl. Joyful, indeed! Thanks for dropping by Sally.

      Like

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    Those are amazing owl photos! I have yet to actually see an owl in the wild. Lucky you! Good luck on more sightings 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hasn’t been another, yet. I saw them quite a few times last year. There were two the first time and I was so stunned! I think I’d had one fleeting sight in the night when I was a kid. Apparently they will return to the same roost from time to time, for years.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joanne Sisco says:

        Good luck. I hope they do return 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you're thinking.

