Sunny insects

I breathed a big sigh of relief this morning when I got my Nikon D3000 to work in the Guide Mode after I selected single release for the shutter.

Obviously I have done something to the settings which will not reset with the reset button. It might have something to do with white balance as the EXIF data on the photos I took today reported it was doing something unexpected.

You may recall that my troubles began when I began my adventurous experimenting with manual settings.

insectsyellow

Anyway, I had a bit of a snap-happy time and then had a hard time choosing what to share. I settled on these as they reflect my mood – sunny, with fuzzy edges.

insectsyellow2

These lovely flowers are borne on a tree in my neighbour’s yard. I love the play of light and shadow on the insect and the little flowers.

insectsyellow3

I cropped the bee from a larger image and it’s heavily sharpened using GIMP. I’m including the featured image again – I love the tendril/leaf thing at the lower edge.

insectsyellowfeatnikon

Tomorrow, I’ll show you a speckled-eyed drone hoverfly.

Thanks for looking. Do have a good week!  🙂

18 Comments Add yours

  1. sue ouzounis says:

    What a lovely flower. So glad you have a lot of flowers for the bees in your area. At one time there was a scare that the population was decreasing too quickly. They seem to be picking up again now, just have to be careful when going to smell a flower.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah, I never stick my nose in a rose with a good examination inside!

      Like

  2. prior.. says:

    I like those tree flowers too – – and love the mood with these descriptors…

    sunny, with fuzzy edges.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 Thank you, Yvette. I must find out what the flowers are. I’ll be there with the camera tomorrow, no doubt. (The name Buddlea popped into my head and went looking – seems to be a Buddleja globosa – or orange ball tree)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. prior.. says:

        What a fun. And for orange balls! And I bet they add so much visual beauty – and as e nice to grab photos of

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I must get one for my own garden. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. prior.. says:

            I am. Not familiar with this tree and I wonder if they take a while to grow?

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Buddleja globosa, semi-evergreen shrub, fast grower, full sun, salt tolerant, grows a huge 5m, 16ft, height & spread. That’s a big shrub. It’s a butterfly bush, but has balls instead of bracts like most of them. Comes from Chile, Argentina way. Sounds easy to grow and I have room.

            Liked by 1 person

          3. prior.. says:

            Now that was such succinct description! If more botanists or garden folks were so succinct and clear it would Be. Nice!
            And I love butterfly bushes – have a few – learned the hard way they need to be trimmed – let some go too wild and they split – but had a season of loving them!
            And this one here sounds nice and plump and creamsicle good!

            Liked by 1 person

          4. I looked at the spread of my neighbour’s bush today and I reckon it’s been a long time since it’s been pruned – if ever. It’s a good screening plant.

            Liked by 1 person

          5. prior.. says:

            well thanks – guess letting it go wild worked in that case. mine did not.
            and I was actually going for a screen too -= instead i have a snowball bush and crepe myrtle trained more as a scrum then tree.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Claudette says:

    “I settled on these as they reflect my mood – sunny, with fuzzy edges.” -Love that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carol Ann says:

    You are becoming quite the photographer, Christine…I love your sensitivity. the flower is fascinating…so densely compacted…it reminds me of a geodesic dome.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Carol Ann! How lovely to hear from you. An unexpected pleasure. I am quite taken with these flowers. I guess I’ve walked past for year without realising how lovely they are up close. I accidentally discovered same when over near the neighbour’s fence checking if I had enough light to photograph a wattlebird’s nest. Of course, as soon as I see bees, I’m game for a couple of shots. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

      Like

  5. The flowers are amazing. The little critters are fantastic this close up. Thank you for sharing, Christine . Awesome captures.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Tess. As soon as the weather fines up again, I’ll be investigating those blooms again.

      Like

Tell me what you're thinking.

