Butterfly tongues

A few of the butterflies are enjoying the Cineraria Silver Dust – a perennial grown for its silvery foliage. I let mine flower.

commonbluegrass
common grass blue butterfly

commonbluegrass2

 

paintedladyside2
common blue grass butterfly & Australian painted lady

 

paintedladyside3
Australian Painted Lady  (Nikon D3000)

 

paintedladyside5
Australian Painted Lady  (Nikon D3000)

 

Thanks for looking.   🙂

10 Comments Add yours

  1. sue ouzounis says:

    Seeing them close up is a real treat. Just take their pretty wings for granted and forget about the rest of them. Amazing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had no idea they looked like that about the head. Glad you’re enjoying them, Sue.

      Like

  2. These are amazing close-ups. I agree with Sue. It’s a special treat to enjoy these guys so clearly. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Tess. I decided to crop in close this time, since you’ve already seen their wings a lot.

      Like

  3. Sue says:

    Fantastic photos Christine. Such close ups give you a whole new perspective on these beauties.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aunt Beulah says:

    My father-in-law was a renowned entomologist who specialized in bees and wasps, but found butterflies beautiful and intriguing. I often think, as I’m studying your photographs, how much he would have enjoyed their crisp detail.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sadly, the butterflies have dwindled. I was awed by my visitors, Janet, that’s for sure, and couldn’t stop taking photos of them! I did get some lovelies and I’m glad they reminded you of someone special. Thanks for dropping in. ❤

      Like

  5. fatericsmum says:

    Your close-ups are truly amazing, Christine!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Paula. I’m really pleased with what I can do with this Nikon on the auto function.

      Like

Tell me what you're thinking.

