Haiku #81: Sleepy Pelicans

The words this week for Ronovan’s Haiku challenge are trill & final.

I’ve used trill, but substituted terminating for final.
I’m using the Haiku in English Form (5 / 7 / 5 syllables)

I couldn’t decide on the photo. I know. Why not have all three!

haikutrillfinal1

 

haiku81.jpg

 

Supposed to make two sentences…

No strident trill from cozy pelicans on high.
Cozy pelicans on high terminating sleep.

Not sure I nailed the ‘opposites’ rule.

haiku81trillfinal

 IMAGE: from our October trip to Laurieton, NSW.  (FujiFilm Finepix A607 camera)

Have a good day.  😀

12 Comments Add yours

  1. sue says:

    YOU KNOW IT CONFUSES ME, BUT I LOVE THAT YOU TRY

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Poetry should rhyme, should it not? 😀

      Like

  2. sue says:

    I think when it rhymes it flows like a river.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      It took me ages to get my head around it, but I enjoy trying. I include the photos so at least you have something to look at, Sue. 🙂

      Like

  3. vronlacroix says:

    Nice sounds, and it’s the first time I’ve seen pélicans sleeping on a lamp post. Original.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      I was startled when I saw the pelicans on the lamp post, too! They looked at us walking underneath then stuffed their heads back under their wings. Thanks for taking the time to comment on my haiku, Veronica. I almost used raucous instead of strident, but then thought of the sounds. I’m learning, I hope. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ha ha. Love it! ❤ ❤ A fun post. The pictures contribute the mood.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      Glad you got a chuckle, Tess. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Claudette says:

    Love the photos, and your haiku matched well. I admit I haven’t attempted these words yet – not sure if they will get a chance from me

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ChristineR says:

      A few combos did that for me, but I got determined to produce something this week.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you're thinking.

